Skip to Content

DU Announces the Inaugural Designation of 6 New Research Institutes

Back to News Listing


Emma Atkinson

Announcement  •
aerial view of DU campus

The University of Denver has announced the inaugural designation of six existing DU research entities as official DU Research Institutes.

“These new Research Institutes possess national and international reputations of significant stature, creating the peer reputation needed for their departments or divisions to become highly respected,” says Corinne Lengsfeld, senior vice provost for research and graduate education. “They serve the fundamental mission of the University by creating an accessible educational environment that attracts, retrains and retains top faculty and students.”

To be considered for designation as a Research Institute, an entity must have a three- to five-year annual average of $1.5 million in research expenditures from external sources. It must also be found to contribute to the fabric of the University through a certain number of faculty involved and students taught and trained.

Research Institutes get more access to resources from DU departments including Information Technology, Marketing and Communications and Advancement, among others. They will also receive financial incentives from the University to stabilize their administration and cover other costs.

More information on Research Institutes can be found on the DU Research Policies webpage.

The new Research Institutes are as follows:

The Butler Institute for Families (Graduate School of Social Work)

The Frederick S. Pardee Center for International Futures (Korbel School of International Studies)

The Institute for Human-Animal Connection (Graduate School of Social Work)

The Marsico Institute for Early Learning (Morgridge College of Education)

The Stress, Early Experience and Development Institute (College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences)

The Institute for Relationship Science (College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences)