Skip to Content

Skyler McCoy and band Better Weather release "Wayfare"

Back to Article Listing


Angela Mitchell

Manager of Marketing & Communications, Lamont School of Music

News  •
Better Weather - Wayfare

Skyler McCoy is a third-year Lamont student in the Recording and Production program. This past July, he and his band Better Weather self-released their debut album, Wayfare. 

They describe their group as a "baroque pop collective"--in addition to the traditional folk rock lineup of acoustic and electric guitars, drums, bass, and keyboards, the band features strings, french horn, oboe, and flute. 

All of the performers and engineers are current or former Lamont students. They recorded almost the entire album at DU, utilizing the spaces at the Newman Center for the Performing Arts and Nagel Hall. Recording sessions were held April through May and November 2022, and January through May 2023.

McCoy wrote, produced, recorded, mixed, and mastered all songs on the album, and worked with his bandmates on the arrangements.

In a review for New Noise Magazine, Toni Elton says the band is "...unafraid to experiment and play around with different themes and instrumentation in their songs. Better Weather brings musical sophistication to an audience in a palpable manner." 

Better Weather is made up of Skyler McCoy, Trevor Freed, Will Eisenberg, Sean Perman, Zach Regin, and David Vincent. Wayfare also featured Jayme Eck (cello), John Winstead (oboe), Yudai Leonzon (violin), Olasuyi Ige (violin), and Hana Flood (flute). Additional engineers included Will Eisenberg, Erik McCready, and Jeremy Mock. 

Better Weather will perform at the Fox Theatre in Boulder on October 5; click here for more information and to purchase tickets.

Related Articles